top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrant B

2021 Reflection and Integrity Report



“The world is about to change”, Dalinar said. He took a deep breath. “You give me hope, true hope, that we can change it in the right way.” -Excerpt from Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson

As inspired by the book Atomic Habits by James Clear, I am starting my yearly reflection and integrity report . I hope that this step helps me become more accountable, aware, and reflective of my actions and to revisit the year that has passed, from my decisions to new learning experiences.

3 main questions for this integrity report:


  1. What are the core values that drive my life and work?

  2. How am I living and working with integrity?

  3. What standards can I set to be a better version of myself?


CORE VALUES

This year, I attempt to list and reflect on the core values I live by. It was a bit challenging to categorize them but these are the 5 themes I crafted along with questions to consider and ask myself.


HEART

compassion, generosity, kindness


  • Am I practicing compassion?

  • Am I pouring from a cup that has enough?

  • Am I kind - not just when it’s easy but also when it’s difficult?


GRIT

fortitude, determination, resiliency


  • Am I mentally and physically strong?

  • Am I prepared for the challenges that life will bring?

  • Am I taking steps to strengthen myself?


PURPOSE

relationships, meaningful work, life long learning


  • Am I contributing more than I consume?

  • Am I doing what makes a better world - not just for myself but others too?

  • Am I nurturing my relationships? (family, friends, etc)


STABILITY

balance, routine, habits


  • Am I able to stick to my routines?

  • Am I balancing on a tightrope?

  • Am I practicing what I learn in therapy?


FULFILLMENT

happiness, authenticity, clarity

  • Am I truly happy? (What is happiness?)

  • Am I true to myself and to others?

  • Am I clear with my intentions?

INTEGRITY

What are the choices and practices I do that reflect my core values this past 2021?

  • Sharing my resources.

I do my best to give when I have more than enough. Sometimes, even when I don’t. Over the years, I have learned how to establish healthier boundaries but there are days when I can’t help but be there for those who need it most. Knowing that I’m the only one they can ask for help or run to - who else if not me? I should also consider if I am pouring from a cup that has enough.

  • Mental fortitude as aided by therapy and medication.

As I always say, the only thing I take religiously is my medication. I also do my best to reflect and apply the things I learn in therapy. Considering the pandemic, I ask myself if I have gotten stronger or have I been stable because of my comfortable environment with my grandparents? I dream to be someone who is a person of all seasons - one who is able to withstand and face things especially when it’s uncomfortable.

  • 2021 internship work

Although it was mostly online, I saw the purpose and reason for the work I was doing. It was all being done to build a better and more compassionate world for myself and others (especially those who need it most.)

  • Reading books that guide me and being aware of my habits.

Books by KonMari, James Clear, and even Brandon Sanderson really helped me lay down the foundation who I want to be and who I will become. I have begun habit tracking and while it isn’t perfect, it is a good start. I have also became more hopeful because of all the genuine and thought provoking stories I am reading.

  • Being open and authentic despite the physical distance.

Online connections have been our crutch and main form of communication during the duration of the pandemic. On my end, I am grateful for the Internet and social media in keeping me connected and updated in the lives of my friends and people who inspire me. I do my best to be authentic and to share the journey I’ve been going through. Not every single detail are included but the stories I share are the ones I can be transparent about.


CONSTANT IMPROVEMENT

What can I do to continue building a better version of myself?

  • Living and being more intentional with kindness and patience (especially to my loved ones).

  • Learning how to set healthier boundaries and keeping a balanced cup which neither overflows or lacks.

  • Be a person who is ready to face all seasons.

  • Always take the next step - the chances I take (even if it fails) is infinitely better than the opportunities I am too scared to pursue.

  • Just keep trying and trying!

  • Connect genuinely, authentically, and deeply.

  • Use the tools that I have been equipped with.

  • Do my best to show up everyday.

  • Strengthen my (good) habits.

  • Keep the balance.


2021 LEARNING REFLECTIONS

  • The basics are important.

-Healthy food intake

-Balanced sleep schedule

-Good hygiene

-Mental health

-Physical health


  • Building a habit requires consistency.

  • Having proper foundation on financial literacy.

  • Hobbies and friends/family are important in keeping me sane and happy.

  • Should I be focused on a niche or be a generalist/jack of all trades?

  • What do I truly want to do career wise?

  • Be understanding.

  • KonMari is an inspiration - less is more.

  • Take things step by step.

  • Be more responsible!!


ACTION POINTS PER CORE VALUE

HEART

  • Be kind.

  • Learn when to pour and when to refill my cup.

GRIT

  • Always take the next step.

  • Be a person of all seasons.

PURPOSE

  • Pursue my dreams and learn along the way.

  • Nurture my relationships with the people in my life.

STABILITY

  • Keep myself healthy (mental and physical).

  • Take small steps and improve by 1% everyday.

FULFILLMENT

  • Learn to laugh and live a life filled with love.

Writing this is like a contract to do my best and a reminder to myself that I should remain anchored on my core values. Thank you to those who took the time to read and may it also inspire you to reflect as well.


Cheers and happy holidays!


bottom of page