top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrant B

Keeping What Sparks Joy - Tidying up with Grant

“The question of what you want to own is actually the question of how you want to live your life.” — Marie Kondo


A compilation post cataloging my journey of tidying up my space and keeping items that #sparkjoy. I find the KonMari method very intriguing and inspirational so here are my baby steps at reaching and living the life I want to have.

Photo: the life-changing magic of tidying up by Marie Kondo


Chapter 1: Visualizing my destination and finding my WHY


The long version I wrote in my journal but in a nutshell, I simply want my own small spaces (my bedroom and study nook) to be organized and less cluttered. I want to be able to have a mental catalog of my things and keep them in a categorized space where I can easily find my things.

While my why is to be able to have a clearer mind and this step will hopefully make me feel more in control of my space and to have a conducive environment that will enrich my happiness and quality of life.

Photo: first page of my mini journal with a mix and match of stickers with a handwritten version of my favorite quote.


Chapter 2: Keeping What Sparks Joy- Clothes


The book highlights how the KonMari method is not about discarding and simply getting rid of things. A quote goes “we should be choosing what we want to /keep/ not what we want to get rid of.”


I started by placing all my clothing in my life into one big pile.

Photo: The clothes are shown in a pile of bags. Most of them have been in storage for a long while since the pandemic started.


Photo: A pile of my clothes!


Photo: After a few hours of sorting and folding I was able to declutter 2 bags worth of clothes.


Photo: I made my clothes could fit in 4 out of 8 drawers


Photos: Folded and organized clothes in KonMari style for easy access. Hoping I can get to maintain the folded style organization for the long term!


Chapter 3 - Keeping What Sparks Joy - Books


Being an avid reader since I was young, I consider books as an integral part of who I am. I love books and the ones I’ve kept have been a big part of my life and identity. Having a shelf where I can store and glance at all my books makes me incredibly happy

I placed and stacked all my books in one place and one by one I read the titles to myself and placed those I wanted to keep on my shelf. After doing the #KonMari method I was able to reduce some and keep what #sparksjoy and interest. I kept books that I love, books to read, books to collect, and books that hold special memories. I realized that I want a simple mini library shelf, not necessarily a huge library.

Photo: Empty and filled-up shelfie. It has saved a lot of space in terms of storage and I think the shelf size is perfect!


Chapter 4 - Papers, Please!


This is one of the most stressful parts of organizing my things - the papers! I have so many random papers from school and life in general. I agree with the book that it is troublesome to tidy up paper.


KonMari organizes paper into A. LECTURE MATERIALS/SCHOOL/LEARNING B. FINANCE STATEMENTS/PAYSLIPS C. WARRANTIES/RECEIPTS D. IMPORTANT (Currently in use, needed for a limited period, and must be kept) **


For letter A, I have only kept SOME forestry lecture materials since most are digital already and the rest that I kept are my Japanese learning materials. But the ones I’ve gotten from conferences I’ve kept and can’t seem to discard yet.

My problem with A is the university papers I can’t seem to let go of like enrollment papers (FORM 5), exams with good marks (rare), and miscellaneous papers from college, and so.


For letter B, since they’ve all passed and I have no use for them I got rid of it and blacked out with a marker the important parts.


For letter C, I discarded most but still kept a few have to restart keeping track of my finances again to have use for cataloging receipts. Expired warranties I’ve thrown away and existing ones I’ve kept.


For letter D, very painful and tiring to sort but of course kept important papers such as birth certificates, etc. in a special file container.


Photo: The discard pile of papers I have no more use for. They are sent out for recycling.


Photo: #KonMari states to discard all papers but at the end of swimming on my paper pile, I still have (one) container full of sorted papers.


The container above with the remaining papers are mainly lectures and various learning and school materials. Most of them don’t fully #sparkjoy but I have this “proud moment” to have kept most of these academic papers especially exams with good marks.


The paper sorting was really difficult and I think I have to allot more time re-sorting and decluttering more of these papers.


Chapter 5 - Keeping What Sparks Joy - Komono (Miscellaneous items)


I was initially anxious about this step and felt it would be really difficult because of all the small items. I thought that I would have to do the sorting one by one. I learned a new method from #KonMari which is “sorting in Categories”, so what I did was sort my items based on my criteria. Initially, I had 2 bags/1 storage box full of Komono but as I organized them into specific categories the process became easy.


The 1st category is for valuable camping and outdoor items; things like my sleeping bag, hammock, tarp, and so.


Photo: Camping crate



2nd category is bags - for various uses. I reduced the number of bags that I own and can now catalog them in my head. Knowing that all the bags are for functional use keeps me at ease.


The list of bags include:

1 hiking bag for camping/outdoors

1 backpack for general use

2 shoulder bags for casual use

1 laptop bag

1 string bag

2 large bags for storage


3rd category consists of tiny knick-knacks like toys and trinkets. This initially consisted of around 2 eco bags full of items which are equal to one storage box.


Photo: After I finished tidying up the komono/miscellaneous items in the 3rd category, I started with 1 container then was left with a small bag.


A key takeaway is having hope that the people who will receive these items through my giveaways will experience the same joy. I also learned that unsuspecting small storage items (like empty gacha capsules) are super useful in keeping things organized.


I shouldn’t have been THAT anxious because my experience with Papers was much more stressful than this!


I would say that my #KonMari Chapter 5 is a success as I was able to organize and declutter A LOT of items and keep them in their respective categories!


Chapter 6 - Memories and Sentimental items


For this process, I kept almost all my sentimental items. I reminisced while rereading the letters I’ve received throughout my life. Each letter and postcard warmed my heart, received from friends in the Philippines and all around the world. This was my favorite chapter because after sifting and discarding several items from clothes to books - I realize that these memorabilia are the ones of most value to me. Something that’s personal and can’t be bought in stores.



Video: Postcard album


I bought this blank frosted postcard album online and definitely, this is much better having them in an album as compared to be kept on a box. It truly does bring joy having them organized in a very nice way where I can browse the postcards in an album while all the letters I’ve received I can find in one handy place.


I like to think KonMari made this the last step because it does make one reflect on what truly sparks joy in their lives. And for me, that would be my friends, family, memories, and experiences. all these photos and letters mean so much to me.


BONUS CHAPTERS


Chapter 7 - Storage and organizers


The last few chapters of the book discuss organizers and storage techniques. One thing I learned is to tidy by category, not by location. I bought some affordable organizers for this chapter.


Photo: Organizing my wires and some electronics.

Photo: Mod Threads toucan organizer and Monstera wallet


I use an organizer from Mod Threads Ph to keep my receipts, accounting notes, and a few papers. I also recently got a smaller wallet organizer from the same shop which serves as my card and cash organizer.


Photo: Pen holders and pencil case set up.


Glad to have easy access to my pens, highlighters, and markers on my study table! The one on the right is bought online and the one on the left is recycled from a former food container.

As someone who does a lot of journaling and writing, this has been very exciting and helpful for me.


On the last leg of my tidying up journey, I fixed my stickers using this clear container and I’m happy how it turned out! Much better unlike before when they were placed in random tiny clear plastics and envelopes.

Photo: Sticker storage

I'm very glad every item is in their right category instead of random places in the house.


Closing note: Deepest thanks to KonMari for the tips and guidance throughout this experience! Cheers!




bottom of page